• Views: 51
  • No comments

Book Category: Biographies
Posted by quantum 12-07-2017, 13:57


Where I Live Now: A Journey Through Love And Loss To Healing And Hope

by Sharon Butala


Where I Live Now: A Journey Through Love And Loss To Healing And Hope

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss.

“It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended.” —Sharon Butala

In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers.

When Sharon Butala’s husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory—of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss.

Often called one of this country’s true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

Rated:
Total votes: 0

Related Books:

  • The Marriage Paradox: Why Emerging Adults Love Marriage Yet Push It Aside

    The Marriage Paradox: Why Emerging Adults Love Marriage Yet Push It Aside
  • Legendary Authors And The Clothes They Wore

    Legendary Authors And The Clothes They Wore
  • A World In Us: A Memoir Of Open Marriage, Turbulent Love And Hard-won Wisdo ...

    A World In Us: A Memoir Of Open Marriage, Turbulent Love And Hard-won Wisdo ...
  • The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

    The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir
  • Writing Hard Stories: Celebrated Memoirists Who Shaped Art From Trauma

    Writing Hard Stories: Celebrated Memoirists Who Shaped Art From Trauma
  • Lana Turner: Hearts And Diamonds Take All

    Lana Turner: Hearts And Diamonds Take All
  • How Not To Hate Your Husband After Kids

    How Not To Hate Your Husband After Kids
  • Fault Lines: Life And Landscape In Saskatchewan’s Oil Economy

    Fault Lines: Life And Landscape In Saskatchewan’s Oil Economy
  • The Last Love Song: A Biography of Joan Didion

    The Last Love Song: A Biography of Joan Didion
  • Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys.: A Memoir

    Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys.: A Memoir
  • Biographies and Memoirs Collection

    Biographies and Memoirs Collection
  • New York Times Notable Fiction of 2012

    New York Times Notable Fiction of 2012
  • City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, Book 4) by Cassandra Clare

    City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, Book 4) by Cassandra Clare
  • "Advances in Landscape Architecture" ed. by Murat Özyavuz

  • Amherst Media Photography Books Collection

    Amherst Media Photography Books Collection